Latest Update

I’m really sorry to keep everyone waiting…

FM HS Mod (4) won’t be publicly released for another, while. Right now my main PC has a dying hard drive, and isn’t fast enough for 5500 polygon mods. As a result I can’t test with this machine as I am getting more and more bad sectors every time I turn it on… as it is I’m scrambling to backup all important / archived stuff. Thankfully I have a 120GB external drive with my old HS stuff on it, but the drive is full. I have another computer with two hard drives – one is dead and empty, and the other one isn’t recognized by the BIOS. And that PC is only 256MB RAM and early version of XP Home. My only truly working PC at this point is my laptop, with a 500MHz Celeron, 128MB RAM, ATi Rage Mobility M (4MB GPU)  a 5GB HDD and Windows 98SE – and even THIS can’t run HS, because the CPU fan never turns on and after a few minutes of gameplay the computer overheats and locks up.

I was expecting to have my custom-built computer working by now, but unfortunately that won’t happen for a while either further putting off the beginning of my new project. My motherboard is dead, and I am struggling through the RMA process for both that and the processor.

In short, all my PC’s have issues, none of them will have enough graphics memory / or regular ram, to do mods… my best working one is 512MB right now of DDR 333. I’m really stuck at this point and I’m not happy that I sold off my trusty Dell Dimension with an Athlon 64 3200+, 1GB of DDR2 RAM, and a nice 160GB HDD. Sigh… These days I have no free time at ALL during the week, Monday through Friday. If I get a few minutes I will check the forums, or NFSAddons. Only Saturday and Sunday can I manage to check my blogs/forums, and even then I have more work to do and — I’m sorry — but being limited to such little time to do what I want, I’m not spending all of it on HS like I used to. Abyss wondered why I could shove out a release of the FM Mod every week. It was because I had SO much time on my hands, and SO much enthusiasm for screwing around on HS. But I kind of lost my patience with all my PC problems right now, and having just two days a week, I have lots of other things to do. I am sitting in a pile of old, reasonably crappy PCs. I have eight of them, only 3 work. Sometimes it’s fun. And, when I need them for serious work, sometimes it’s not.

One Response to Latest Update

Leave a Reply

